Theodore's World: List of 28 Republicans who voted for the debt ceiling increase

« Krauthammer Doubles Down on Obama’s Latest ACA Delay: “Banana Republic Is an Understatement” | Main | Krauthammer: Obama Wakes Up in the Morning And Decides What the Law is Going To Be" »

February 12, 2014

List of 28 Republicans who voted for the debt ceiling increase

The following Republicans voted Tuesday to raise the government's borrowing limit:

FOX News

John Boehner, R-Ohio.
Majority Leader Eric Cantor, R-Va.
Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy,R-Calif.
Chief Deputy Whip Pete Roskam, R-Ill.
Ken Calvert, R-Calif.
Dave Camp, R-Mich.
Michael Grimm, R-N.Y.
Richard Hanna, R-N.Y.
Doc Hastings, R-Wash.
Darrell Issa, R-Calif.
Devin Nunes, R-Calif.
Hal Rogers, R-Ky.
Dave Reichert, R-Wash.
Chris Collins, R-N.Y.
Howard Coble, R-N.C.
Charlie Dent, R-Pa.
Mike Fitzpatrick, R-Pa.
Pete King, R-N.Y.
Frank LoBiondo, R-N.J.
Buck McKeon, R-Calif.
Patrick Meehan, R-Pa.
Gary Miller, R-Calif.
Ed Royce, R-Calif.
John Runyan, R-N.J.
John Shimkus, R-Ill.
Chris Smith, R-N.J.
David Valadao, R-Calif.
Frank Wolf, R-Va.

The House of Representatives passed a one-year extension of federal borrowing without any conditions today.
Only 28 Republicans, including GOP leadership, voted for the extension. 193 Democrats voted for the bill.
Reuters reported:

The House of Representatives narrowly approved a one-year extension of federal borrowing authority on Tuesday after Republicans caved into President Barack Obama’s demands to allow a debt limit increase without any conditions.

The 221-201 vote, carried mainly by Democrats, marked a dramatic shift from the confrontational fiscal tactics House Republicans have used over the past three years, culminating in last October’s 16-day government shutdown.

It came after House Republicans repudiated House Speaker John Boehner’s latest plan to link an increase in the $17.2 trillion borrowing cap to a repeal of planned cuts to military pensions.

Although Boehner called his decision to advance a “clean” debt limit a “disappointing moment,” it sets aside a difficult and divisive issue until after the 2014 congressional elections in November, allowing Republicans to focus their campaign efforts on the rocky launch of Obama’s health care reform law.

Wild Thing's comment...........

Shame on them. And thank you for those that voted No.

Posted by Wild Thing at February 12, 2014 12:55 AM


I am disappointed that Issa joined that crowd. As for Boehner, I have completely lost respect for him. I just hope he is not reelected to the speakership.

Posted by: TomR,armed in Texas at February 12, 2014 12:44 PM